Which one of the following is the example of osteichthyes or bony fish?

Osteichthyes: These are fishes with bony skeleton. Examples are Tuna, Sardines, Codfish, Salmon, Trouts, Herring etc.

Which of the following is an example of bony fish?

The correct answer is option 1, i.e. Rohu. Rohu fish is made of bone and cartilage. Rohu is a bony fish with a bony endoskeleton (meaning, made of bone and cartilage) It is having four pairs of grills which are covered with operculum on each side. It is a large omnivore fish and mainly used in aquaculture.

Is an example of bony fish answer?

The major examples of bony fishes are Tuna, Salmon and Trouts.

What are 3 examples of Osteichthyes?

Four examples of Osteichthyes are lungfish, salmon, clownfish, and eels. Lungfish are in the class subclass Sarcopterygii along with coelocanths. Salmon, clown fish, eels, and fish that people are most familiar with are in subclass Actinopterygii.

Is Osteichthyes a bony fish?

bony fish, (superclass Osteichthyes), any member of the superclass Osteichthyes, a group made up of the classes Sarcopterygii (lobe-finned fishes) and Actinopterygii (ray-finned fishes) in the subphylum Vertebrata, including the great majority of living fishes and virtually all the world’s sport and commercial fishes.

INTERESTING:  Can a Fumet be made with bones other than fish?

What are the 5 examples of bony fish?

Sunfish, bass, catfish, trout, and pike are examples of bony fish, as are the freshwater tropical fish that you see in aquariums.

Other species of bony fish include:

  • Tuna.
  • Atlantic cod.
  • Red lionfish.
  • Giant frogfish.
  • Seahorses.
  • Ocean sunfish.

Which of the following belongs to Osteichthyes?

Clarias (Magur) is a cat fish which belongs to Osteichthyes.

Which of the following is not an example of bony fish?

The Classification of Non-Bony Fish

From there the non-bony fishes can be divided into two classes: Class Agnatha (Jawless Fishes) and Class Chondrichthyes (sharks and rays.) Image from PBS. The members of class Agnatha are startling to look at. Long and eel like, but lacking jaws they can appear faceless and lifeless.

What are the 3 types of bony fish?

Living Osteichthyes are divided into three subclasses: Dipnoi, Crossopterygii, and Actinopterygii.

What is meant by bony fish?

Definition of bony fish

: any of a major taxon (class Osteichthyes or superclass Teleostomi) comprising fishes (such as sturgeons, eels, mackerels, and sunfish) with a bony rather than a cartilaginous skeleton. — called also teleost. — compare cartilaginous fish, jawless fish.

What is bony and cartilaginous fish?

Bony fish, as the name implies, have a skeleton built completely of bones, whereas cartilaginous fish have a skeleton made entirely of cartilage.

Is Dogfish a bony fish?

dogfish A cartilaginous fish, Scilliorinus caniculum, or Squalis acanthias, a small shark; sometimes called rock salmon or rock eel.

What phylum is a bony fish?

Rohu is also a fish with a bony skeleton. It’s four pairs of gills that are coated by plate on all sides. … The fish are divided into a pair of classes: ray-finned fish and fish.

INTERESTING:  Frequent question: What do you call a female that fishes?

Is trygon a bony fish?

Torpedo and trygon are cartilagenous fishes. …

Where are bony fish found?

Bony fishes inhabit almost every body of water. They are found in tropical, temperate, and polar seas as well as virtually all fresh water environments. Some species of bony fishes live as deep as 11 km (6.8 mi.) in the deep sea.